The Virginia Prize for Fiction

Aurora Metro launched the biennial competition to find and promote new women fiction writers from around the world in 2009.  The Virginia Prize for Fiction (2021)  is open for submissions in January 2021.

The competition is run every two years and the prize is open to any woman (over 18) from around the world, writing in English. The shortlisted writers will receive editorial help to develop their novels for publication by Aurora Metro Books.

Entries can be of any genre but cannot have been published or self-published before.


Entry fee £15 early bird until June 1st, 2021

£20 standard until August 1st, 2021

£25 late entry until December 1st, 2021


If unable to pay by PayPal please send cheque (payable to Aurora Metro Publications Ltd) to 67 Grove Ave, Twickenham TW1 4HX UK. or email if you wish to pay via BACs.

You can enter the competition here from January 2021:


Recent winners include Nikki Dudley for her novel Volta coming in 2021 and Dipika Mukherjee for her novel Shambala Junction, which was published by in 2016.  Other shortlisted novels published were: The Dragonfly by Kate Dunn in 2017 and The Walls Came Down by Ewa Dodd in 2018. You can pre-order any of the books now at:  

See below some of the books which have won or been shortlisted to date.

read them all

Save Up to 50%

Contact us at to buy all 6 books with Voucher Code VP50

KIP AND TRIX small.jpg
Nikki Dudley.jpg

Nikki Dudley the 2020 winner

Dipika Mukherjee the 2016 winner